20.3 C
April 13, 2024
Let Out  News
Image default
Editor's Picks News

Electoral Commission not to allow voters to stay after voting

The Electoral Commission (EC) has confirmed that no voters will be allowed to remain at the polling stations after casting their ballots in the forthcoming 2021 Elections.

According to the EC chairman Justice Simon Byabakama, the notion that voters should remain behind at their respective polling stations until tallying is done will not be allowed during the exercise next week.

Byabakama says it is impossible to have voters remain behind because it could violate the SOPs needed to be observed due to the COVID-19 pandemic that has rocked the country in recent times.

However, most opposition candidates such as NUP’s Robert Kyagulanyi, DP’s Nobert Mao and FDC’s Patrick Oboi Amuriat have been encouraging their supporters not to leave the polling stations until tallying is done.

Meanwhile, members of the opposition have set up a united tally centre for presidential candidates in opposition party tickets as well as those standing as Independent.

According to a joint statement from all parties, they agreed to use joint technology and pool resources to ensure vote protection and transparency during tallying.

The parties involved in the process of setting up the tally centres include; FDC, Jeema, NUP, DP, ANT, and Lt Gen Henry Tumukunde.

Related posts

Museveni praises the late Ben Kiwanuka

Sigmund Ainembabazi

Katikkiro Charles Peter Mayiga hits back at Chief Justice Alphonse Owiny-Dollo

Sigmund Ainembabazi

KCCA FC finally confirms Lawrence Bukenya’s departure

Edwin Musaazi

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More