23.7 C
July 17, 2024
Let Out  News
Image default
National News

Uganda adopts Swahili as second official language

Hon Chris Baryomunsi, the Minister of Information, Communication, Technology and National Guidance told reporters that the cabinet on Monday approved the implementation of a directive by the 21st East African Community (EAC) summit that Kiswahili be adopted as an official language of the community.

Uganda now therefore has two official languages, Kiswahili and English.

The EAC brings together seven member countries including Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, the Democratic Republic of Congo and South Sudan.

Baryomunsi also added that Cabinet also directed that the teaching of the Kiswahili language in primary amd secondary schools should be made compulsory and examinable.

Related posts

Allan Ssewanyana and Muhammad Ssegirinya still languishing behind bars after Court granted them bail

Sigmund Ainembabazi

Hon Mathias Mpuuga Applauds Dr Kiiza Besigye’s Protests

Sigmund Ainembabazi

Fred Bamwine Relieved of Duties as Masaka RDC

Sigmund Ainembabazi

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More